I’m tired…

 

These guys are definitely not tired – or not yet! We had a lot of fun watching this group of young Ugandans from Kampala Children’s Centre sing and dance and drum at Vineyard Brussels last Friday evening. They seem to have boundless energy.

But I’ve been tired.

The prophet Isaiah tells us that even young people get tired … and I’m not young!

Maybe it’s because I’ve been been getting up to early to write this blog. Or maybe it’s because I’ve been going to bed too late. Actually, I think it’s a bit of both. 🙂

Isaiah goes on to give us a solution to tiredness:

Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord

    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:30-31

I think he’s not talking just about a general hope, but an active, engaged trust.

The gospel writer, Matthew, records Jesus inviting us to come to Him for rest.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest … Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

Matthew 11:28-29

It’s in coming to Him and spending time with Him that our strength is restored.

I think that’s what I’ll do now!

One thought on “I’m tired…

  1. Pingback: A wise man speaks … | イエスの弟子 … A student-apprentice

Leave a Reply

