Early in the morning

13249691_1200300670015196_2020384626_n

God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you! I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God, traveling across dry and weary deserts. So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open, drinking in your strength and glory. In your generous love I am really living at last! My lips brim praises like fountains. I bless you every time I take a breath; My arms wave like banners of praise to you.
Psalm 63:1‭-‬4 MSG
http://bible.com/97/psa.63.1-4.MSG

I get up early and slowly. Anyone who sees my Instagram, Facebook or Twitter posts will know that I usually post a ‘verse of the day’. I think this is good, but I’m often so eager to find a good verse and post it and then see what other people are posting that I forget that the best thing to do early in the morning is to simply spend some time with my Father, Jesus and Holy Spirit, to be thankful for all the good things God has given us and worship Him.

Here’s another version of the beginning of Psalm 63:

O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water.
Psalms 63:1 NKJV

Early in the morning – and earnestly – I will seek God. Today He was not hard to find!

Your unfailing love is better than life itself; how I praise you! I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. You satisfy me more than the richest feast. I will praise you with songs of joy.
Psalms 63:23-‬5 NLT
http://bible.com/116/psa.63.3-5.NLT

 

3 thoughts on “Early in the morning

  1. I love this psalm. A contemporary Christian singer in Estonia has written a beautiful song, using the words of this psalm. I sometimes sing it during my morning prayers.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Out of the overflow of the heart… | イエスの弟子 … A student-apprentice

Leave a Reply

