“I am good”

I woke up with that song going round my head again. I used it a few days ago in another post. It’s the song with the chorus, “You are good“.

I can’t write about that, I thought, I’ve already done it. But I felt God say,

“Remind them,  I am good!”

What will I say, I argued? “Just begin, I’ll give you the words,” He replied. So here I am at 4am to remind you, in His words:

“I AM GOOD.”

And that’s the first thing: He is the I AM. Moses found that out in the desert when he went to investigate the burning bush and God told him to go and bring the Israelites out of Egypt.

Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'”

Exodus 3:13-14

For anyone else this would be an odd name, wouldn’t it? But for the eternal creator of the universe, it’s just perfect: He simply IS. He doesn’t change. There’s no question of “was” or “used to be”. HE IS and always will be!

And HE IS GOOD!

We need a lot of reminding because we forget. When our lives are going well we may remember and thank Him, but we’re equally likely to forget. And when things go badly, we doubt His goodness. But He IS; He doesn’t change! And HE IS GOOD!

When the sun shines and the day is beautiful, HE IS GOOD!

When storm clouds come and the rain pours down, HE IS GOOD!

When the basement floods, HE IS GOOD!

When it was just a scare and there is nothing wrong, HE IS GOOD!

When the diagnosis is bad and the prognosis worse, HE IS GOOD!

When the longed-for baby is born – or miscarries, HE IS GOOD!

When the job we always dreamed of become ours, HE IS GOOD!

When we lose the job, HE IS GOOD!

Our circumstances do not change his goodness.

Even when the world is bad, HE IS GOOD!
Even when there are shootings and bombings, HE IS GOOD!

And, what’s more, His faithful love endures – lasts, goes on and on – forever! The Psalms are full of this. There’s even one Psalm (Psalm 136) that repeats the phrase in each of its 26 verses! His love will never end and He is faithful. That’s a topic for another time, but it’s all part of His being good. Psalm 118 starts and ends with the same words:

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.”

So I, too, will end how I began, with this reminder from God – our Father, Saviour and Counsellor:

“I AM GOOD!”

13458745_10153695353453170_4143893587995365194_o

 

Leave a Reply

