Never has, never will!

Last night I dreamt I was rejected.

I was in some kind of group of friends and acquaintances and we were taking turns to make some relevant comments about who knows what. (It was a dream; it doesn’t have to make sense!) I’d hardly got out the first two sentences of my comments before someone made it very clear that I was boring and needn’t continue. Maybe they were right, though I didn’t think so, but that’s not the point. I felt rejected and it hurt. The dream continued and when I woke up I knew it had been a dream – but it still hurt.

There’s been a lot of rejection in my life. Little things that I didn’t necessarily notice along the way, but such things add up. They hurt, and for me rejection became a root of problems in my life. Maybe you can identify with this.

But I’ve come to realise two important things.

1) I’m in good company! Jesus, too, was rejected.

He was despised and rejected—
    a man of sorrows, acquainted with deepest grief.
We turned our backs on him and looked the other way.
    He was despised, and we did not care.
Isaiah 53:3

He came to his own people, and even they rejected him.
John 1:11

That’s not just nice to know, it means He understands how I feel – how you feel- because He has felt it too!

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to feel sympathy for our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are – yet he did not sin.
Hebrews 4:14-15

But it gets better!

2) I’ve learned it also means that, if we don’t reject Him,  He will never reject us!

Jesus promises it in John 6:37.

media-20160531

I once asked God about rejection. I don’t know exactly how I phrased the question but it must have been something about whether or not He rejected me because the answer came back quick as a flash, not in religious jargon, but paraphrasing the words of Denny Crane in Boston Legal, who had never lost at trial and didn’t expect to: “Never have, never will!”

So if you feel rejected, remember He knows all about it, knows how it feels, and if you go to Him, He will never reject you!

Never has, never will!

Leave a Reply

