You are good

There are many things I don’t know and don’t understand about God – and that’s as it should be. As Bill Johnson says, if there is no mystery about our God then we have reduced Him to our level, to what we can understand. And then He’s not God.

But there’s one thing I do know: He is good!

In C.S.Lewis’ allegory, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, where Aslan represents Jesus, Susan is nervous about meeting him and wonders if he is safe.

“Aslan is a lion- the Lion, the great Lion.” “Ooh” said Susan. “I’d thought he was a man. Is he-quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion”…”Safe?” said Mr Beaver …”Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

I think Lewis has got it just right: Jesus is not safe, but He’s good. In fact He’s better than anyone you can imagine, any friend you could wish for, any other saviour you could look for or any god you might worship.

That’s why I love this song – it stirs my whole being to remember that, whatever is happening to me, to my friends and family or in the world as a whole, He is good and one day it will all make sense.

This is not an article of faith for me, something I have to believe in the face of all the contrary evidence, it is something I know deep within me and it’s why I’m a student-apprentice.

Here are the words again.

Let the King of my heart
be the mountain where I run
The Fountain I drink from
Oh He is my Song

Let the King of my heart
be the shadow where I hide
the ransom for my life
Oh He is my Song

You are good, good oh
You are good, good oh
You are good, good oh
You are good, good oh

Let the King of my heart
be the wind inside my sails
The anchor in the waves
Oh He is my Song

Let the King of my heart
be the fire inside my veins
the echo of my days
Oh He is my Song

One thought on “You are good

  1. Pingback: “I am good” | イエスの弟子 … A student-apprentice

Leave a Reply

